Wande Coal Lawfully Commands Influence With His Third Project– Realms EP Review

1 month ago

Creating a niche in afrobeat music genre and dominating it is all Wande Coal has done and nothing more. "Realms EP" by Wande Coal is a further step by the afrobeat god to exercise control over his own 'Realm'.

Unlawful Command Control (UCI) explains the situation where a soldier uses his rank or influence to alter or modify military judicial proceedings. It is a legal concept within the American military law which prohibits military commanders and/or high profile military personnel’s from misusing their powers. Having been in the Nigerian music space for over a decade, evolving and growing with afrobeat and its sub-genres, Wande Coal is inarguably a force to reckon with when discussing the auspices and the manifold sounds rooted in afrobeat.

Oluwtobi Wande Ojosipe professionally known as Wande Coal has repeatedly proven to be an emperor when it comes to creating new melodies and effortlessly laying down his vocals on African sounds. The idiosyncratic nature of his vocals allied with the sacrosanctity and dexterity in his songwriting offers him the advantage to command attention in the market. His vibes are pure and enigmatic.

For the record, it took Wande Coal five solid years to process the release of his third project. His last body of work 'Wanted' was released in 2015. The 23-tracks LP album featuring stars like Falz, AKA, Wizkid, 2face, Burna Boy kept his fans preoccupied for five years before dishing out his third project tagged "Realms EP".


"Realms EP" is Wande Coal's lawful way of commanding influence. He returned with a 7-track extended play featuring Wale.

  • The first track "Again" released weeks ago as a single came with fire. Wande Coal took us back to the good old days when he effortlessly made hit tracks by just humming melodies with mind blowing lyrics. This is most definitely the hottest track in the EP.

  • "Check" had Wande Coal remind us the 'its Wande Coal' famous intro he rocked last decade when he dished out his debut album "Mushin 2 Mo'hits" in 2009. It is funky and sounds odd but melodious.

  • "Naughty Girl" is another single off this EP. I think this is a modern version of his "The Kick'" single featuring Don Jazzy released in 2013. The groove is exceptional regardless. "Naughty Girl" will most likely swipe you off your feet.

  • The next track "Odo Lo Like" is a single released by the veteran singer on December 12, 2019. It has firm and pleasant trumpet sounds.

  • "Ever Blazin" sounds awful with the bafflingly disordered instrumentals. I think Wande Coal was trying to take us to a different realm in this one.

  • Sarz and Wande Coal link up to give us a banging tune in "Vex". The lyrics are playful and the melody is cracking. It is one of those sounds you fall in love on first listening.

  • Wande Coal wastes no time in dishing out the remix of his hit single "Again". He employs the services of American rapper, Wale in delivering another lovely version of this monster hit. "Again remix" couldn't have been better!


Lyrics - 4/5

Production - 4/5

Performance - 3/5



Related Forums
SARS Officer Who Tortured Young Man To Death Now Commands SWAT
1 day ago
Protesters Project The EndSARS Logo On Tinubu’s Oriental Hotel In Lagos (Photos)
1 day ago
Man City Boss Pep Guardiola Praises Influence Of ‘Incredible’ De Bruyne (See What He Said)
3 weeks ago
Brymo Hints On His Forthcoming Project ‘9’ Album
1 month ago